fbpx

About Evatt 2022

Represent Victoria at Australia’s premier debating and diplomacy competition.

The Evatt Competition places students in the shoes of UN Security Council nations to debate on issues of international security, human rights and current affairs. Students from Years 9 to 12 compete in teams of two from their own school with the aim of passing a resolution which suits the interests of their state. Successful teams from the preliminary rounds will progress to the state final, with the winners going on to represent Victoria at the annual Evatt National Final.

Learn more about how Evatt works.

REGISTER HERE

The Evatt Competition Round Structure

The Evatt Competition has three rounds in Victoria – preliminary rounds, semi-finals, and a State Grand Final.

The Preliminary Rounds consist of metro rounds held in the Melbourne metro area, and regional rounds, held in many regions around Victoria including Ballarat, Geelong, Kilmore, Warrnambool, and Shepparton. All regional rounds are full days of Evatt debate.

From these preliminary rounds, sixty teams will be selected to attend the Semi-Finals in Melbourne. The top 15 teams from the semi-finals go on to compete in the Victorian Grand Final. The top 5 of those teams represent their school and their state at the National Finals in December – which is held in a different capital city each year.

Why should I take part in Evatt?

  • Engage with important international issues of our time, from global warming to terrorism, aid to intervention;
  • Develop skills in public speaking, research and negotiation;
  • Become a better team-player and leader;
  • A chance to meet other passionate and engaged young people.

Who is Evatt for?

Evatt is open to all Victorian students in Years 9 to 12 who have an interest in, or would like to learn more about, contemporary global affairs. No prior experience with debating, public speaking or Model United Nations is required to take part – some of our most successful teams have entered the competition this way!

Got questions? Contact Tom Sun at tom.sun@unyouth.org.au for more information.

Event Details

Key dates

Metropolitan Melbourne Rounds: 

Prelims: AM and PM session per round

  • Friday 22nd July – Monday 25th July.
  • Friday 29th July – Monday 1st August
  • Friday 5th August – Monday 8th August

Regional Rounds: Singular session per round

Prelims:

  • Tuesday 26th July – Thursday 28th July
  • Tuesday 2nd August – Thursday 4th August
  • Tuesday 9th August – Thursday 11th August

Semi Finals: 

  • Saturday 27th August
  • Sunday 28th August

Finals:

  • Friday 9th September
Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Join our Mailing List!
ErrorHere